The five love languages of business

Make your customers fall by using the five love languages of business

In 1992, Gary Chapman introduced the world to the five love languages, and his book has transformed the way many people feel in their relationships. It’s a go-to self-help guide for romantic partners for its clarity and simplicity. Chapman explained how there are five love languages, and each person has one or more that they rely on to express love. When they can do this, they not only get the satisfaction of sharing how they feel, but they also get to feel loved and valued in return. From the five love languages (words of affirmation, acts of service, receiving gifts, quality time and physical touch), you probably know which one is your primary – and your husband/wife/boyfriend/girlfriend definitely does.

In this blog, we’re looking at how you adopt this same heartfelt commitment approach to your online business, so here are the five love languages of business.

Words of affirmation

There are times when we could all use a little support and positivity. You can make your customers feel good about their purchase decision through the way you communicate. Prompt, friendly communications and saying thank you go a long way towards turning a first-time buyer into someone who will purchase from you again – and tell their friends. Also, don’t limit your communications to transactional messages – saying hello (with no sales agenda) lets you use words to affirm how important each customer is to you.

Acts of service

Customer service is a great way to make your online business stand out from the competition. Even small gestures that make people’s lives easier, or save them time or money, will be appreciated. These could include going the extra mile with your packaging, regularly updating customers on the status of their shipment, or ensuring that you ship goods as soon as they’re ordered, so that no-one has to wait too long for their new favourite thing.

Receiving gifts

Generosity is a wonderful trait to have as an entrepreneur. In an era when many businesses are cutting back on the ‘nice-to-haves’, you can enhance customer loyalty with thoughtful, meaningful gifts. These could include tailored special offers, or extra inclusions with orders over a certain value. As an ecommerce seller, you may never get to meet your guests, but you can use gifts to let them know they’re important to you.

Quality time

Time is the most precious commodity of all, and paying attention to people is certain to make them feel valued. You may not be able to invite your buyers to in-person events, but you can use this one of the five love languages of business by making sure that you’re as available as possible to help them with queries, orders and complaints, and spending quality time on every aspect of their shopping journey, from accurate product descriptions to faultless invoices and efficient fulfilment.

Physical touch

If your business is digital, how can you use the last of the five love languages of business? Simple, really – through tangible customer touchpoints. These include the products you’re selling (of course) and the packaging materials you use. If you only sell quality items, people will feel the love. If you package everything as if it’s priceless, they’ll appreciate the gesture. And if you try to always use sustainable packaging materials, they’ll be able to see that you value our planet, too. To see how Bob Go can help you express the five love languages of business, click here for a free 30-day subscription and take advantage of solutions that we know you’ll love: